Data Bending Experimentation

For this project, I wanted my focus to be mainly about Data Bending and Glitch Photography. I have used some old images from a previous project to experiment with Data Bending on the ‘TextEdit’ application on my Mac, which I find works really well.

This one is my favourite one I did, because I like how there are lots of different colours created by the glitches and I like the lines too. When I made this I tried to scroll through all of the code and delete random chunks to create different sized glitches in different places to make it more random, which I think looks really good and I hope my final pieces turn out something like this.

This second one I created I really like, but it didn’t go as well as the first one. It was going really well at first as I was using the exact same method I used for the first image, but I ruined the image too much because I couldn’t open the image in a preview or in Photoshop, I had to take a screenshot to have a record of it so I could upload it here. If I’d got to finish the whole image I think it would have looked really cool. Using these images has also given me the idea of doing some more light painting for this project and then data bending it, because I think these images link to the theme of data really well and I’m super pleased with how they turned out. I love how the colours and the lines came out and I’m really excited to start experimenting with shooting my own images and data bending those too.

One thought on “Data Bending Experimentation

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started